CheeseBall!!!

I got one call for the recipe for this delicious guy, and at least one sibling making fun of me for making it. So – as all amazing things – it’s controversial. (Ok, not really. It’s a just cheeseball.)

This zippy, nut-covered ball of cheese has been a fixture at just about every family fall/winter holiday since I can remember. It is, also, the first recipe I ever wrote down. I remember getting a pencil and a piece of looseleaf, pulling up a kitchen chair to the counter, and asking my mom for the recipe for her cheeseball so I could write it down so it would never be lost. (Yes, I was a slightly dramatic child.)

My mom smiled and gave a soft laugh before she indulged me. I scribbled it on the paper, which knocked around my junk drawer for years most likely. Unfortunately I do not have that original pencil scrawled recipe, but I have made it for years now and have the recipe tucked away in my brain – just like my mom did when I pulled up that kitchen chair to the counter.

So please go forth and conquer your friends and family with this super-simple super-delicious cheeseball!

 

Everything in the bowl.

Everything in the bowl.

 

Old School Cheeseball

Makes two small balls or one large one, serves up to 10

  • 8oz cream cheese, softened
  • 8oz block of cheddar, grated
  • 1/2 small yellow onion, grated
  • 5 oz of blue cheese (trust me, even if you don’t like blue cheese…you won’t be able to really taste it)
  • 5 dashes of Worcestershire
  • 1 cup of chopped and toasted walnuts or pecans

Be sure you buy a block of cheddar and grate it yourself, already grated cheeses are coated and dried out – they won’t work. Mix everything but the nuts in a bowl until well combined. Place bowl into refrigerator to chill the cheese and make it easier to form. Spread nuts over a cutting board or a plate. After 20 minutes in the fridge, take out cheese and form it into one large ball or two smaller ones – then roll in the nuts, coating all sides. Keep cheeseball refrigerated until ready to serve. You can make it up to two days ahead of time. Serve with crackers. (My family always uses the Breton Original or Multigrain.)

IMG_0590

 

Leave a Reply

